Tag: Keystone XL

Judge Denies TransCanada Request for Pre-Construction Work on Keystone XL Pipeline

Judge Denies TransCanada Request for Pre-Construction Work on Keystone XL Pipeline Ruling Deals Yet Another Setback to Proposed Dirty Fossil Fuel Project Great Falls, MT — Today, a federal judge reaffirmed that TransCanada cannot conduct any pre-construction field activities on its proposed Keystone XL pipeline. This ruling means that construction on the controversial tar sands […]
Read Post

KXL Monitoring: Did You Witness TransCanada Activity in Nebraska, South Dakota or Montana?

Have you witnessed TransCanada pipeline employees or contractors operating in Nebraska, South Dakota or Montana — in violation of a federal judge’s order prohibiting any construction or “pre-construction” activity? Provide as many details as you’re able on the form below, and we’ll use this form to document the alleged violation and pass along to the […]
Read Post

A Bold Candidate: Christa Yoakum for Nebraska Public Service Commission

(Written by Lincoln resident Mary Anne Andrei) Back when smaller was better, Christa Yoakum spent her childhood days at a one-room, white clapboard schoolhouse on Haines Branch, a tributary of Salt Creek that winds through prairie and farmland just outside of Lincoln. She remembers science classes spent wading into the water to explore its aquatic […]
Read Post

Vote Christa Yoakum for Public Service Commission

We can stop Keystone XL and #FlipThePSC by electing Christa Yoakum to the Nebraska Public Service Commission.  In 2017, the Nebraska Public Service Commission (PSC) reached a contested 3-2 decision to approve a “Mainline Alternative Route” for TransCanada’s Keystone XL pipeline.  Two of the seats on the Commission who were “yes” votes, to approve the […]
Read Post

#FlipThePSC: One Election Can Stop the Keystone XL Pipeline

We can stop Keystone XL and #FlipThePSC by electing Christa Yoakum to the Nebraska Public Service Commission.  ACTION: Volunteer to make calls or knock doors to #FlipThePSC In 2017, the Nebraska Public Service Commission (PSC) reached a contested 3-2 decision to approve a “Mainline Alternative Route” for TransCanada’s Keystone XL pipeline.  Two of the seats […]
Read Post

Nebraska Supreme Court to Hear Keystone XL Route Appeal in November

The Nebraska Supreme Court said on Tuesday it now expects to schedule oral arguments in the landowners’ appeal of the proposed Keystone XL route pipeline route in November 2018. The Court sustained a landowners’ motion to continue the hearing; given the Court’s existing days on its calendar for scheduling oral arguments in the month of […]
Read Post

Federal Court Rules State Dept. Must Conduct Full Environmental Review of Keystone XL in Nebraska

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: August 15, 2018 Contact: NRDC: Jake Thompson, (202) 289-2387, jthompson@nrdc.org Bold Alliance: Mark Hefflinger, (323) 972-5192, mark@boldalliance.org Sierra Club: Gabby Brown, (914) 261-4626, gabby.brown@sierraclub.org Center for Biological Diversity: Jared Margolis, (802) 310-4054, jmargolis@biologicaldiversity.org Friends of the Earth: Patrick Davis, (202) 222-0744, pdavis@foe.org Northern Plains Resource Council: Dustin Ogdin, (406) 228-1154, dustin@northernplains.org Federal […]
Read Post

Third Nebraska Family Installs Solar in the Path of Keystone XL Pipeline in “Solar XL” Project

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Aug. 13, 2018 Contact: Mark Hefflinger, Bold Nebraska, mark@boldnebraska.org Dani Heffernan, 350.org, 305-992-1544, dani@350.org Third Nebraska Family Installs Solar in the Path of Keystone XL Pipeline Crowdfunding continues for “Solar XL” project to place additional installations inside the KXL route in Nebraska and South Dakota Naper, NE — Ranchers Bob & Nancy […]
Read Post

Tell the Trump Administration: NO Keystone XL

Click here to sign now — deadline Aug. 29. The Trump Administration’s State Department just published a hastily-produced “Environmental Assessment” that concludes the proposed Keystone XL pipeline would produce only “minor” impacts to our land, water, endangered species and Native American sacred sites in Nebraska like the Ponca Trail of Tears. A new 30-day public […]
Read Post

Trump Administration Attempts a Shortcut to Get Keystone XL Built

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Monday, July 30, 2018 Contact: Gabby Brown, (202) 495-3051 gabby.brown@sierraclub.org Jake Thompson, (202) 289-2387, jthompson@nrdc.org Mark Hefflinger, mark@boldalliance.org Trump Administration Attempts a Shortcut to Get Keystone XL Built Tar sands pipeline faces federal and state legal challenges Washington, DC — Today, Donald Trump’s State Department released a draft Environmental Assessment of the […]
Read Post