BOLD Nebraska

Jump to navigation

Help build a Bold Nebraska

Sign up to our email list to get the latest updates on
key issues, online actions and events to attend.

News. Updates. Stay in the know.

Thanks for joining the cause.


Let people know about BOLD Nebraska:

Special Session Resources

Need your state senator’s phone number? Want to help take action on the current bills going through the Unicameral? This resource page is a one-stop-shop for all you pipeline fighters and Sandhills lovers. 

The Obama Administration’s announcement that they are analyzing alternative routes and Speaker Flood’s news that TransCanada has agreed to move the route are both wins for Nebraskans. However, we still need to keep TransCanada accountable.

Read Bold’s reaction to the big announcement that TransCanada will reroute the pipeline.

We’ll keep this page updated with news from the special session and always have our current action listed on this page. Also at the bottom of the page is a full list of our State Senators and their contact information.

Please let us know if you need more information or have questions that we haven’t answered, just email info@boldnebraska.org.

Special Session Resources:

Schedule: The schedule is shifting and changes fast, but for now the schedule is as follows:
-Fri, Nov 18th, 9am: Langemeier’s LB4 & Dubas’ LB1 get more debate
-Mon, Nov 21st, 1:30pm: Legislature convenes for a layover day for bills
-Tues, Nov 22nd, 9am: Final vote on bills, should go to Governor for immediate signature
You can watch online (choose main legislative chamber) or come to the balcony in the state capitol.

Contact Info for Your State Senator: Find out who’s representing you and then reach out to them. Visit with them at their office, write a letter, send an email, and make a call telling them you expect nothing less than the pipeline being rerouted out of the Sandhills.

Bill RoundupWe’ve written brief summaries of the pipeline bills that have been introduced so far with links to their full text. Five pipeline bills were introduced. Senator Dubas’ siting bill has been moved to the full floor for a debate and vote where it is expected to pass. Senator Langemeier’s bill intent was changed to now focus on the creation of a state-based Supplemental Environmental Impact Statement on alternative routes.

Events: We keep a regularly updated list of public events on the pipeline. We share more than just Bold events, so let us know if there’s an event we should share.

Watch the special session on TV and online: NET will host live coverage on NET2 on your television and online at http://netnebraska.org.

Legal memos: Nebraska lawyers Alan Peterson and David Domina wrote independent legal memos that explain why and how the Nebraska legislature can regulate oil pipelines. The bottom line is YES, Nebraska can put laws in place to route oil pipelines and NO, it is not too late to re-route the Keystone XL pipeline. The Peterson memo is a rebuttal to Speaker Flood’s assertion that the state can do nothing and analyzes Senator Dubas’ first drafts of legislation. The Domina memo digs into how and when Nebraska can enact regulations with a full list of ideas for needed legislation. 

Paul Blackburn Presentation: If you missed the Citizen Special Session, Paul gave a great overview of what our state can do to protect our land and water when it comes to laws and regulations. This is a powerpoint presentation/file.

Current Actions:

1) At this point, the two bills, LB1 and LB4, are locked in, expected to pass final rounds of debate, and be sent to the Governor on Tuesday. Please consider sending an email to your state senator telling them “thank you” for working to protect our land and water and that we will continue to serve as the “watchful citizens” as we head into the new year.

2) Join us on Tuesday, November 22nd in the Capitol Rotunda (specific time TBA) for a press conference to wrap up the end of the Pipeline Special Session and announce our next steps. (Reminder: the Capitol does not allow signs but feel free to wear your Stand with Randy and pipeline fighter gear!)

Senator

Phone

Email

City

Heidemann, Lavon

402 471-2733

lheidemann@leg.ne.gov

Elk Creek

Lambert, Paul

402-471-2613

plambert@leg.ne.gov

Plattsmouth

Price, Scott

402 471-2627

sprice@leg.ne.gov

Bellevue

Pirsch, Pete

402 471-2621

ppirsch@leg.ne.gov

Omaha

Mello, Heath

402 471-2710

hmello@leg.ne.gov

Omaha

Nelson, John

402 471-2714

jnelson@leg.ne.gov

Omaha

Nordquist, Jeremy

402 471-2721

jnordquist@leg.ne.gov

Omaha

Harr, Burke

402 471-2722

bharr@leg.ne.gov

Omaha

Howard, Gwen

402 471-2723

ghoward@leg.ne.gov

Omaha

Krist, Bob

402 471-2718

rkarpisek@leg.ne.gov

Omaha

Council, Brenda

402 471-2612

bcouncil@leg.ne.gov

Omaha

Lathrop, Steve

402 471-2623

slathrop@leg.ne.gov

Omaha

Cook, Tanya

402 471-2727

tcook@leg.ne.gov

Omaha

Smith, Jim

402 471-2730

jsmith@leg.ne.gov

Papillion

Janssen, Charlie

402 471-2625

cjanssen@leg.ne.gov

Fremont

Brasch, Lydia

402 471-2728

lbrasch@leg.ne.gov

Bancroft

Bloomfield, Dave

402 471-2716

dbloomfield@leg.ne.gov

Hoskins

Lautenbaugh, Scott

402 471-2618

slautenbaugh@leg.ne.gov

Omaha

Flood, Mike

402 471-2929

mflood@leg.ne.gov

Norfolk

Ashford, Brad

402 471-2622

bashford@leg.ne.gov

Omaha

Haar, Ken

402 471-2673

khaar@leg.ne.gov

Malcolm

Schumacher, Paul

402 471-2715

pschumacher@leg.ne.gov

Columbus

Langemeier, Chris

402 471-2719

clangemeier@leg.ne.gov

Schuyler

Adams, Greg

402 471-2756

gadams@leg.ne.gov

York

Campbell, Kathy

402 471-2731

kcampbell@leg.ne.gov

Lincoln

McGill, Amanda

402 471-2610

amcgill@leg.ne.gov

Lincoln

Coash, Colby

402 471-2632

ccoash@leg.ne.gov

Lincoln

Avery, Bill

402 471-2633

bavery@leg.ne.gov

Lincoln

Fulton, Tony

402-471-2734

tfulton@leg.ne.gov

Lincoln

Wallman, Norman

402-471-2620

nwallman@leg.ne.gov

Cortland

Pahls, Rich

402-471-2327

rpahls@leg.ne.gov

Boys Town

Karpisek, Russ

402 471-2711

rkarpisek@leg.ne.gov

Wilber

Utter, Dennis

402-471-2712

dutter@leg.ne.gov

Hastings

Dubas, Annette

402-471-2630

adubas@leg.ne.gov

Fullerton

Gloor, Mike

402-471-2617

mgloor@leg.ne.gov

Grand Island

Wightman, John

402-471-2642

jwightman@leg.ne.gov

Lexington

Hadley, Galen

402-471-2726

ghadley@leg.ne.gov

Kearney

Carlson, Tom

402-471-2732

tcarlson@leg.ne.gov

Holdredge

McCoy, Beau

402-471-2885

bmccoy@leg.ne.gov

Omaha

Larson, Tyson

402-471-2801

tlarson@leg.ne.gov

O’Neill

Sullivan, Kate

402-471-2631

ksullivan@leg.ne.gov

Cedar Rapids

Hansen, Thomas

402-471-2729

thansen@leg.ne.gov

North Platte

Fischer, Deb

402-471-2628

dfischer@leg.ne.gov

Valentine

Christensen, Mark

402-471-2805

mchristensen@leg.ne.gov

Imperial

Cornett, Abbie

402-471-2615

acornett@leg.ne.gov

Bellevue

Conrad, Danielle

402-471-2720

dconrad@leg.ne.gov

Lincoln

Schilz, Ken

402-471-2616

kschilz@leg.ne.gov

Ogallala

Harms, John

402-471-2802

jharms@leg.ne.gov

Scottsbluff

Louden, LeRoy

402-471-2725

llouden@leg.ne.gov

Ellsworth

Join the Discussion

News. Updates. Stay in the know.

Thanks for joining the cause.


Let people know about BOLD Nebraska:


BOLD Nebraska
208 S. Burlington Ave., Ste 103, Box 325, Hastings, NE 68901