BOLD Nebraska

Jump to navigation

Help build a Bold Nebraska

Sign up to our email list to get the latest updates on
key issues, online actions and events to attend.

News. Updates. Stay in the know.

Thanks for joining the cause.


Let people know about BOLD Nebraska:

Fight for Fairness at University of Nebraska

Do you think it is fair one of Nebraska’s largest employers currently denies some employees access to basic employment benefits? We don’t. But at the University of Nebraska employees are treated differently based on martial status and sexual orientation when it comes insurance for their partners.

Luckily, adding an Employee Plus One (E+1) benefit, a policy that would allow unmarried partners living together to share health insurance, would change that. It is all up to the NU Board of Regents.

As NU President, JB Milliken, explains, “We should provide [these] benefits not only to be competitive in attracting and keeping top faculty and staff, but because treating our employees equitably is the right thing to do.”

We couldn’t agree more. So please, help Nebraska take a step towards our state motto—equality before the law.

ACTION:
The NU Board of Regents vote on Employee Plus One benefits THIS FRIDAY, June 8th. We need YOU to call or email your regent and tell him that you support this policy.  

Timothy Claire
District 1 (Lincoln)
(402) 475-5100
tclare@nebraska.edu

Howard L. Hawks

District 2 (West Omaha)
(402) 691-9539
hhawks@nebraska.edu

Chuck Hassebrook

District 3 (Northeast NE)
(402) 687-2103 ext. 1018
chassebrook@nebraska.edu

Bob Whitehouse

District 4 (East Omaha)
(402) 339-5515
bwhitehouse@nebraska.edu

Jim McClurg

District 5 (Southeast NE)
(402) 477-2030
jmcclurg@nebraska.edu

Kent Schroeder

District 6 (Central NE)
(308) 237-9688
kschroeder@nebraska.edu

Bob Phares

District 7 (Western NE)
(308) 532-3180
bphares@nebraska.edu

Randolph Ferlic

District 8 (Midtown Omaha)
(402) 397-2837
rferlic@nebraska.edu

 

Join the Discussion

News. Updates. Stay in the know.

Thanks for joining the cause.


Let people know about BOLD Nebraska:


BOLD Nebraska
208 S. Burlington Ave., Ste 103, Box 325, Hastings, NE 68901