Troy Thompson and his son knocking on doors during a Bold “Get Out the Vote” event in Omaha before Election Day 2014. (Photo by J Grace Young / Bold Nebraska) 

We can stop the pipeline by electing one more member to the Nebraska Public Service Commission (PSC) who is against the Keystone XL pipeline.

There are two seats on the Commission up for grabs in the upcoming election, in District 1 (Lincoln area and adjacent counties) and District 3 (West Omaha area, Sarpy, Saunders, Washington counties). See full District maps below.

View the List of #NoKXL Candidates for the Public Service Commission.

Bold Nebraska is organizing door-to-door canvasses in Public Service Commission Districts 1 & 3, to urge voters to support the candidates who have stated publicly that they are opposed to the Keystone XL pipeline.

(Not in Nebraska? Donate to Bold’s campaign to flip the PSC to NoKXL.)

Sign-up below for a canvass shift, and join us to talk to voters in these areas about these crucial races that could flip the PSC to NoKXL. We’ll provide a brief canvass training at the meetup location, and then head out together onto the turf to talk to voters. We’ll provide canvassers with a PSC vote card to leave with voters that lists the #NoKXL candidates. We’re also encouraging all voters to fill out and return a Vote by Mail application to their County Election Office before the May 4 deadline.

  • Nebraska Primary Election is May 15th!
  • Canvassing will be ongoing through the General Election in November.

We’ll be posting specific details for additional large group canvasses, but you can also sign up for a canvass shift that works best for your schedule & location.

PSC District 3 includes West Omaha (west of 132nd St south of Maple St, west of 120th St north of Maple St; includes La Vista, Papillion and Bellevue in Sarpy County).
PSC District 1 includes the city of Lincoln, and all of Lancaster, Cass, Otoe, Gage, Johnson, Nemaha, Pawnee and Richardson counties.