In Blow to Pipeline Project, Court Invalidates Trump Administration’s Keystone XL Environmental Review, Blocks Construction

Mark Hefflinger
News
Share
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Nov. 8, 2018 In Blow to Pipeline Project, Court Invalidates Trump Administration’s Keystone XL Environmental Review, Blocks Construction GREAT FALLS, Mont.– A federal judge ruled today that the Trump administration violated bedrock U.S. environmental laws when approving a federal permit for TransCanada’s proposed Keystone XL tar sands pipeline project. The judge blocked […]
Read Post

Christa Yoakum Comes Up Short in Hard-Fought PSC Race; Next Steps for KXL

News
Share

Despite an odds-defying run that mobilized new voters from across rural and urban Nebraska, Christa Yoakum came up short in the race for Nebraska Public Service Commissioner. The election was the closest any PSC candidate experienced in recent history, a testament to the spirit of Pipeline Fighters, farmers, ranchers, Native Americans and Nebraskans who want […]

Nov. 1: Nebraska Supreme Court Hears Landowners’ Appeal of KXL Route Approval

Event
Share

Stand with us in Lincoln on Thursday, Nov. 1st as the Nebraska Supreme Court hears landowners’ appeal of the Public Service Commission’s approval of the “Mainline Alternative” route for the proposed Keystone XL pipeline in November 2017. (More background on the case here). If the Justices side with landowners’ arguments, TransCanada will be forced to […]

#FlipThePSC: One Election Can Stop the Keystone XL Pipeline

We can stop Keystone XL and #FlipThePSC by electing Christa Yoakum to the Nebraska Public Service Commission.  ACTION: Volunteer to make calls or knock doors to #FlipThePSC In 2017, the Nebraska Public Service Commission (PSC) reached a contested 3-2 decision to approve a “Mainline Alternative Route” for TransCanada’s Keystone XL pipeline.  Two of the seats […]

Only 62% of Nebraska Landowners Have Signed With TransCanada’s Keystone XL Pipeline, Down from 88% in 2015

News
Share

A very interesting but little-noticed fact emerged during Canadian pipeline operator and proposed Keystone XL pipeline builder TransCanada’s second quarter earnings call with reporters and analysts on August 2nd, when company CEO Russ Girling relayed that the company had obtained easements from 62% of landowners in Nebraska on the proposed Keystone XL “Mainline Alternative” route: […]

Federal Court Rules State Dept. Must Conduct Full Environmental Review of Keystone XL in Nebraska

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: August 15, 2018 Contact: NRDC: Jake Thompson, (202) 289-2387, jthompson@nrdc.org Bold Alliance: Mark Hefflinger, (323) 972-5192, mark@boldalliance.org Sierra Club: Gabby Brown, (914) 261-4626, gabby.brown@sierraclub.org Center for Biological Diversity: Jared Margolis, (802) 310-4054, jmargolis@biologicaldiversity.org Friends of the Earth: Patrick Davis, (202) 222-0744, pdavis@foe.org Northern Plains Resource Council: Dustin Ogdin, (406) 228-1154, dustin@northernplains.org Federal […]

The Top 5

We mobilize unlikely alliances to protect the land and water.

Bold Nebraska is best known for our work with an unlikely alliance of farmers, ranchers, Tribal Nations and citizens to stop the risky Keystone XL pipeline. We work on issues including eminent domain, clean energy, small family farms and lifting up small businesses who represent the Good Life with our Made in the Neb project. You can find us in the streets, corn fields and in the State Capitol standing up for property rights and standing with citizens as we work to protect the land, water and climate.